Day 06 – Dark place, stay away

Day 06 – Something you hope you never have to do.

There are near enough a million things I could write in response to this. I think there are a million things anybody could write. There are a lot of things we hope we never have to do; witness the death of our most loved ones, give up on our dreams, bring up our children in a war zone, become so apathetic that we forget how to feel or lie there helpless as we get beaten black and blue by the man we ‘love’.

The reality is however that these are things which people have and do live through. Every single day. There is someone out there right now, right at this moment in time that is living through all the horrible things I wish I will never have to live through. It’s real for them. It’s happening. And knowing this tells me that it could just as easily be something that I could have to endure someday too.

Thinking about it is actually quite frightening; it’s reminds me of how truly evil this world can be, how sinister its people can be and how easily we can fall victim to the overbearing ugliness of reality. Most importantly though, it reminds me not to get too caught up in life; with the snap of a finger, everything in this life as I know it could change.

Note to self: be appreciative and be glad, it’s ok to be happy; but never overlook your blessings, never be ungrateful, never take life for granted.

Some things, however painful, are a part of life. Some things, the majority of us can’t escape; they are inevitable. They will happen, regardless of whether we want them to or not.

I just hope that I never have to go to that dark place where I don’t want to have to tolerate it anymore. That soul sucking, strength stealing place. The place where you hold your hands up and get ready to walk away from your reality, from each of the blessings you become too blind to see anymore.

I hope, that no matter how hard things might get, I never feel the need to truly give up.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 06 – Dark place, stay away

  1. La Vie en Rose says:

    Life can be a frightening place. Its a surprise to me that after what people go through, they are still standing. But many of those who are living through those unimaginable and horrific experiences continue to fight on and refuse to give up on life. They find the strength to endure the overbearing pain and stand up on their own two feet with their heads held high even when they’re carrying the weight of the world on their shoulders.

    Take comfort in their strength and let it be a message to us all: never give up. Not just on life or on the world, but on yourself. Because you are worth fighting for.

  2. I hope you never get to that dark place again either! An attitude of gratitude is a great thing to have, but really hard to get some days. It helps to think how rotten other people’s situations are because it makes me so appreciative that I have the nice, boring life I have.

Leave a Reply

