Dark winged star

 

Dark winged star

 

Eyes wet

Thoughts scattered

Heart bruised

Hopes shattered

 

Distant memories

Of all that used to be

How it was

The girl that was me

 

Silent shadows

Echo

Hollow ghosts

Of everything that’s no more

 

Darkness

Fills the space

In which I sit

Keeps me company

For just a bit

 

Still

Somehow

So alone

 

Cold mist

Materializes,

The window

Its canvas

 

Hazing my vision

But what does it matter

Clarity divorced me

Long ago

 

Regret befriends hope

False friendships form

Inherently destructive

 

Time to leave?

 

Why

When Destruction

Still

Makes me feel so alive

 

City lights

Outside my window

Yet so far

Like all good things

 

Dreams

Out of reach

 

My mind wanders

Takes a walk

Down these streets before me

As I sit

Same place as years ago

 

Maybe that decision

Made then

Was wrong

Like me

 

Soon enough

Possibility breaks heart

Cracks uncovered

It hurts once more

 

I look up

By chance

A shining light

Catches my eye

Unusually bright

 

A plane?

No

It’s still

Stationary

 

A star?

 

I disbelief

For a moment

Hesitant to believe

 

I give away faith way too easy

 

Moments later

It still remains

Stationary

 

A sign?

 

A smile appears

I look down

Dry my eyes

 

Reassured

I look up

Once more

 

It’s gone

 

The dark winged star

Flew away

 

Deceived

Again

Just like before

 

It left

Just like the rest

 

 

Dark winged star

 

Eyes wet

Thoughts scattered

Heart bruised

Hopes shattered

 

Distant memories

Of all that used to be

How it was

The girl that was me

 

Silent shadows

Echo

Hollow ghosts

Of everything that’s no more

 

Darkness

Fills the space

In which I sit

Keeps me company

For just a bit

 

Still

Somehow

So alone

 

Cold mist

Materializes,

The window

Its canvas

 

Hazing my vision

But what does it matter

Clarity divorced me

Long ago

 

Regret befriends hope

False friendships form

Inherently destructive

 

Time to leave?

 

Why

When Destruction

Still

Makes me feel so alive

 

City lights

Outside my window

Yet so far

Like all good things

 

Dreams

Out of reach

 

My mind wanders

Takes a walk

Down these streets before me

As I sit

Same place as years ago

 

Maybe that decision

Made then

Was wrong

Like me

 

Soon enough

Possibility breaks heart

Cracks uncovered

It hurts once more

 

I look up

By chance

A shining light

Catches my eye

Unusually bright

 

A plane?

No

It’s still

Stationary

 

A star?

 

I disbelief

For a moment

Hesitant to believe

 

I give away faith way too easy

 

Moments later

It still remains

Stationary

 

A sign?

 

A smile appears

I look down

Dry my eyes

 

Reassured

I look up

Once more

 

It’s gone

 

The dark winged star

Flew away

 

Deceived

Again

Just like before

 

It left

Just like the rest

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Dark winged star

  1. Lord Akuna says:

    Enjoyed this. Very dark.

  2. jjvioletpoet says:

    Wow. I’m speechless. This poem hit me hard. It was so brave and forthright. Profound and enlightening as though writing this poem was liberating, like it was something you wanted to say for a long time but couldn’t. This poem shows how poetry can heal.

  3. Eqlektik says:

    Bravo…..Much depth of emotion in this piece. Truly moving.

  4. terri says:

    I totally thought I left you a love note about how wonderful and intense this piece is. Very impressive.

  5. You really captured the sense of hopelessness that is felt by everyone at one time or another. Just because it disappeared doesn’t mean it wasn’t a sign. You saw it – it was real. Perhaps it served its purpose in lighting your life & giving you hope. I think we should cling to whatever sparse hope is available until something better comes…and it will. Hugs & peaceful wishes of joy for you.

  6. You and I are a bit alike it seems. Read my “what happens when your heart dies” (i thinkit’s the second archive page under my favorite things.) I adore your blog and will be back!
    Ps… Im @kellielately 🙂

  7. Sulthana says:

    Dark and melancholic… for a minute I thought it would end on a hopeful note but then crash! Much like the feelings you’re trying to convey. Well written.

Leave a Reply

